This page uses its own and third-party cookies to ensure that we give the best user experience on our website. If you continue using this site we will assume that you agree More information


Nominees for the Roca Awards to the Hotel Initiative announced


The nominees for the 11th Roca Awards to the Hotel Initiative, organised by Gran Hotel Turismo magazine, have been revealed. After receiving applications and assessing all candidates over the last three months, the Jury has now chosen 44 potential winners for the sculpture by designer Domènec Fita. The monolith will be awarded at a dinner party that will be held at the Roca Barcelona Gallery next 21st June.

The nominees for 2016 are:


• Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection Barcelona

• H10 Cubik Barcelona

•Palacio de Úbeda Úbeda (Jaén)

•Room Mate Valeria Málaga



• Gallery Hotel Barcelona

• Hotel Claris Barcelona

• María Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel San Sebastián (Guipúzcoa)

• NH Collection Abascal Madrid



•Barceló Sancti Petri Spa Resort Chiclana (Cádiz)

• BlueBay Lanzarote Costa Teguise (Lanzarote)

• Grand Palladium White Island Resort & Spa Sant Jordi de Ses Salines (Ibiza)

•Hesperia Playa Dorada Yaiza (Lanzarote)



• Hotel Mas de la Costa Valderrobles (Teruel)

• Meliá Sol y Nieve Sierra Nevada (Granada)

• Rafaelhoteles by La Pleta Baqueira (Lleida)

• Vincci Selección Rumaykiyya Sierra Nevada (Granada)



• Caelis-El Palace Barcelona Barcelona

• Casamar Restaurant Hotel Llafranc (Girona)

• María Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel San Sebastián (Guipúzcoa)

• NH Collection Eurobuilding Madrid



• Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Barcelona

• NH Collection Eurobuilding Madrid

• Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel L’Hospitalet de Llobregat (Barcelona)

• Resort Balneario de Panticosa Panticosa (Huesca)



• Castilla Termal Balneario de Olmedo Olmedo (Valladolid)

• Healthouse Las Dunas Health & Beach Spa Estepona (Marbella)

• Iberostar Gran Hotel Mencey Santa Cruz de Tenerife (Tenerife)

• Wine Oil Spa Villa de Laguardia Hotel Laguardia (Álava)



• Hotel Tres Reyes Pamplona

• Hotel Urban Madrid

• Las Casas del Arenal Seville

• Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona



• Barceló La Bobadilla Loja (Granada)

• Hotel Botánico & The Oriental Spa Garden Puerto de la Cruz (Tenerife)

• Hotel Spa Niwa Brihuega (Guadalajara)

• Ilunion Málaga Málaga



Awards to tourist destinations:

-Hotel Innovation in Portugal

• H10 Duque de Loulé Lisbon

• Vincci Liberdade Lisbon

• Vincci Porto Oporto

• Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaça Vestiaria-Alcobaça

- Hotel Innovation in Dubai

• Armada BlueBay

• Armani Hotel Dubai

• Meliá Dubai

• Media One Hotel

 The members of the jury for the Roca Awards to the Hotel Initiative this year are: President Enrique Curt, Founding President of Curt Ediciones; Laura Curt, Manager of the 11th Awards to the Hotel Initiative; Miguel Ángel Almodóvar, gastronomy critic; Domènec Biosca, President of the Association of Experts in Tourism Companies; Álvaro Carrillo de Albornoz, General Manager of the Hotel Technological Institute; Ascensión Durán, Honorary Member of OPC Spain; Juan Molas, President of the Spanish Confederation of Hotels and Tourist Establishments; José Ángel Preciados, General Manager of Ilunion Hotels; Xavier Torras, Roca’s Brand & Communication Director; Sergio and Javier Torres, Executive Chefs at the Dos Cielos Restaurant in Hotel Meliá Barcelona Sky, and Fernando Tomás Ginés, Communication and Promotion Manager of Viajes El Corte Inglés.

Established in 1993 by Gran Hotel Turismo, the Awards to the Hotel Initiative acknowledge and pay tribute to the hotels and hoteliers for their contribution to a constantly moving sector that keeps reinventing itself and surprising us. Therefore, these awards are a great prestige for those who work to improve the tourism market, the main driving force of the Spanish economy and on which Gran Hotel Turismo of Grupo Curt Ediciones also depends.

The Roca Awards to the Hotel Initiative are sponsored by Roca and have the support of Amenities Pack, Eiralabs, Eurofred, FunderMax, Mastinell, Orac Decor, Sahita, Saxun, Tattoo Contract, Vandemoortele and Viajes El Corte Inglés.